Final Summary

Ethical Issues in my Profession

 

Chinese industry standards differs from the United States because in the U.S there are minimum wages set in place for the government so that we still can make a decent amount of money. In China the wages are so low that people who work in really high stress jobs and in the past working in these positions have led to people killing them selves because they were so burnt out. China also doesn’t regulate stuff as much for example I walked past a kitchen in a restaurant and it was filthy and it look like a health inspector has never set foot in there.  Also there is a huge pollution problem in China too. The United States government regulates all companies for how much carbon they admit and other chemicals they dispose of but in China they don’t stress it as much however that is changing as the country becomes more modern. In business it would be smarter to outsource your company to China because it would save you a ton of money because the wages are so cheap there.  Since the wages are cheap you could sell your product for less money and there will be more demand so more people will buy it.

 

 

Education as Professional Development

 

Before I went to China I thought that it was such a different culture then the United States but there actually wasn’t. There especially wasn’t one in the educational system. We visited a college in Beijing and it reminded me exactly of college back home. The students may dress a little more differently and be in to different music but the general style of college is the same. I don’t think they need to change a thing. If anything they know more about global culture and business then students in the United States. I think that we should make an attempt to learn more back in the states. Almost every young person in China understood a and could speak a decent amount about English and I think it would be smart for students in America to start acting like them.  After this trip I believe that not only should kids learn more about cultures in different countries but also I think that every student should study abroad. This trip was one of if not the best experience of my life and I believe that every person should travel to another country and amerce them selves in the culture. I have been lucky to do it multiple times but I think others should do it too!

 

 

Lifelong Learning, Continuing Education as a Professional

 

In Capital Bio, Lenovo, and Tsinghua Solar I believe that techniques that the employees use every day are learned through their years of schooling. Since capital Bio, Lenovo, and Tsinghua Solar are very science based the scientists need years of schooling to invent new products for the company. However we visited an alcohol distillery and I believe that you don not need an education to do what these people do.  Many of the guys were just doing manual labor like hulling grain around the factory or helping the distilling process. Other people in the company are just on an assembly line being part of the packaging process. These people don’t go to school for this but just learn from years of experience on the job. However all the business have one thing in common. They all need to market their products. Whether or not the person learned it in school or just from years of experience they still need people to run the business. For the most part every business seemed to be very organized so you could tell that there was a chain of command that is operation efficiently.  In China just like the U.S you don’t need schooling to run a successful business but it sure helps.

 

 

The social environment of professional life

 

In China they have CNN Hong Kong and that’s where I got most of my news for China and all over the world. They do a good job covering the stories however they are a little late on reporting it. For example we will hear news about something in the United States right after it happens but in China they would report on something that has happened in America a few days after it happened.  I don’t know if this was true since I didn’t talk directly to a lot of Chinese people but I have a feeling that they are kind of in their own little bubble. The government controls a lot of the Internet and media in China so if they don’t want the country to see something then they will not show it on TV. However, I’m sure they feel the same because I am not really sure what is going on in China at all times unless it is major news.  I have a feeling though that after this trip I will pay closer attention to Chinese news since I feel like I have become more invested in china and feel like it is a part of me now and I think that that is an experience that every person should have.

 

 

Functioning on Multi-Disciplinary Teams

 

Yes I believe that it is very important for people from different backgrounds to be able to communicate while in a group. In the Chinese based company Lenovo has a requirement that every employ needs to speak English so in meetings they wont have any language barriers and this also gives their company a competitive edge in the global market. This was a good example on how to work in groups with people from diverse backgrounds. During this trip we had to work in groups with people much different then ourselves. The Business and Engineering students came together and we worked together in groups to make a business model and present it to the class. We overcame our differences by discovering each other’s strengths.  I’m not trying to be judgmental but I think the business students strengths over all are that we are outgoing and creative while engineering students are much more practical and smarter when it comes to math. We could use those strengths to make our work better. This was a very good learning experience because we all will be working with people from different backgrounds for the rest of our live so its great to get the practice in now!

Leave a comment