My Individual Report

My first country that I had been too outside the United States was Canada. I went to Niagara Falls in middle school, a few years later I went back to Canada to Quebec with my high school french class. I have traveled to england for the World Scout Jamboree where I camped out along with 45,000 other scouts from all around the world. When I was going in to 10 grade i traveled to Europe with my family where we spent a little more then two weeks in France, Switzerland, Austria, Hungary, and Germany. This spring break I went to Cancun with my friends also.

I want to go to China because I have already been to Europe, Canada, and Mexico. I have never been to an Asian country and I have always wanters to. I am really interested in culture and Chana’s culture is very different then any other country that I have been too so I think that  it would be awesome to experience.

I believe that the professional workers in China differ then the workers from the USA in a way that they work much harder. I could be wrong but I picture the workers being indulged in their work rather then socialize with other workers as people tend to do in the united states. I believe that the offices are run in a more strict manner as well.

I think there will be a bunch of cultural differences in China compared to the USA. One is how the kids have fun, In the US kids play a bunch of sports, chill with friends, and watch tv and relax. I think that in china the kids are much harder workers and they take their jobs much more seriously.

As I can tell already from trying to get a visa to enter the country that the chinese government is much harsher then the United States government. Our government gives us freedom of speech while the Chinese government won’t even let people go on twitter or Facebook.  I feel like the chinese government does everything behind closed doors while our government is broadcasted on the news.

I believe the students  that i will meet will be very similar to the students here at pitt. Most of them will be outgoing and have a solid group of friends. Im sure when we go on their campus they will be excited much like pitt students would be excited if a group of students came to pitt from another country.

I think that the food will surprise me the most. I love chinese food but the chinese food I eat is americanized food. When I go to China I am expected to be surprised  from how bizzar the food is in actual China. Although I am sure I will enjoy most of the food I eat, I will still be shocked.

I think then living conditions in China will differ from the United States in a way that their houses will be much smaller. Since they are one of the most populated country in the world I think that most of the living quarters will be apartment style with many people in one little space.

I am very excited for this trip to China. I believe that I will get many memories that I will keep with me for the rest of my life. I hope this is the first of many trips I have to China in my life. I also hope  that  I see and experience things I can not do anywhere else in the world.

Brian Chatot

 

 

Leave a comment